

12/17/2024

RESOLUTION 352 – 2024

Introduced by Chairman Barrett

PROCLAIMING 2025 AS THE CENTENNIAL YEAR OF THE NEW YORK STATE ASSOCIATION OF COUNTIES

WHEREAS, the New York State Association of Counties ("NYSAC") was founded 100 years ago to serve as a unified voice and advocate for the 57 counties of New York State, including the five (5) boroughs of New York City; and

WHEREAS, NYSAC has consistently worked to enhance the effectiveness of county governments through robust advocacy, comprehensive education, and meticulous research, all aimed at addressing the unique challenges faced by county officials and their constituents; and

WHEREAS, over the past century, NYSAC has played an instrumental role in promoting the interests of county government at the state and federal levels, ensuring that the voices of local governments are heard and their needs addressed; and

WHEREAS, NYSAC has provided invaluable resources and training to county officials, empowering them with the knowledge and tools necessary to deliver efficient and effective services to the residents of New York State; and

WHEREAS, through its commitment to research, NYSAC has fostered innovative solutions and best practices that have strengthened county operations and improved the quality of life for millions of New Yorkers; and

WHEREAS, NYSAC has built a legacy of collaboration and partnership among county governments, fostering a spirit of unity and mutual support that has been crucial to addressing common challenges and advancing shared goals; and

WHEREAS, the centennial anniversary of NYSAC is a momentous occasion to celebrate the association's enduring dedication to public service and its profound impact on the governance and well-being of New York State's counties; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Saratoga County Board of Supervisors does hereby proclaim the year 2025 as the Centennial Year of the New York State Association of Counties and extend heartfelt congratulations and gratitude to NYSAC for 100 years of exemplary service and leadership; and be it further

RESOLVED, that this Resolution shall take effect immediately.

BUDGET IMPACT STATEMENT: No budget impact.

December 17, 2024 Regular Meeting Motion to Adopt: Supervisor Grasso Second: Supervisor Butler

AYES (225,104): Eric Connolly (11831), Joseph Grasso (4328), Philip C. Barrett (19014.5), Angela Thompson (19014.5), C. Eric Butler (6500), Harry Brennan (819), Robert Anderson (1333), James D. Arnold (3525), Kevin Veitch (8004), Arthur M. Wright (1976), Kevin Tollisen (25662), Cynthia Young (17130), Scott Ostrander (18800), Jesse Fish (16202), Sandra Winney (2075), Ian Murray (5808), Michele Madigan (14245.5), Matthew E. Veitch (14245.5), Edward D. Kinowski (9022), David Ball (8208), John Lant (17361) NOES (0):

ABSENT (10,405): Thomas Richardson (5163), Willard H. Peck (5242)